ATTENTION ALL VENDORS
Please be aware that the Iowa Department of Revenue is enforcing the Iowa tax code for Special Events, which includes flea markets. Dealers MUST have an Iowa Sales Tax Number.
Iowa Code §423.33(3)
This means that ALL vendors selling tangible property must have an Iowa Sales Tax number Unless you are selling exempt items under the Iowa Dept. of Revenue Code such as those vendors selling ONLY Animals, feed, farm equipment or other exempt items.
It is recommended that every vendor, that does not have an Iowa Sales tax number, apply now for a number. You may do so online by following this link. https://www.idr.iowa.gov/CBA/start.asp this will only take a few minutes of your time.
I understand you may NOT like this however it is the law and we have no choice but to follow the law. This law has been in effect for many years and while it was not enforced in the past by the Department of Revenue it is NOW being enforced and we MUST furnish the State of Iowa with names addresses of every vendor along their sales tax number.
I have been asked many times does this mean I have to charge sales tax? The answer is you do not have to charge it separately to your customer but you must still remit the tax owed. You can either sell your item including the sales tax or you may add it to the price. How you handle this is up to you. If you sell an item for $100 and include the tax you are actually selling the item for $93.46 and $6.54 would be the tax amount. If you sell the item for $100 plus tax your customer would owe you $107.00.
If you have any questions about this PLEASE give me a call at (309) 252-2866